Andrea cox

All posts backup

7 Tips to slow down & de~ stress!

7 Tips to Slow Down & De~Stress!

Hi there:) Between work, chasing after the kids, running errands, caring for aging parents and trying to keep your body healthy, who has time to slow down? Is it just me or does it seem like everyone is in a rush these days yet no-one is getting anything done! 

News Flash~Your body is well aware of these chronic stressors we call “life”! Its screaming for you to “slow down and just be! When you repeatedly get stressed, your nervous system stays stirred up. Even small amounts of stress can make you feel overwhelmed.

Today as I sit in Mexico with my boyfriend, his son and two amazing dogs, I realize its 5pm and I’ve been in my bikini all day. Mexico does that to me. It slows me down and I don’t mind a bit! I always feel refreshed when I return home ready to tackle my week! 

Andrea taking a relaxing day in Mexico!

Andrea taking a relaxing day in Mexico!

Here are my top 7 Tips for learning to slow down~de ~stress and  relax!

1) LEARN TO MEDITATE  Meditation has been proven to lower blood pressure in individuals with chronic stress. What more proof do we need? During my interview with Meditation expert Tom Cronin I learned a way to “go within” that works for me. I try to aim for at least 20 minutes in the morning and 20 minutes at night. Although meditation does not have the effect that my yoga practice does, I always feel calmer and more centered when I incorporate it into my flow!

Andrea Cox~Morning meditation in Mexico!

Andrea Cox~Morning meditation in Mexico!

2) PRACTICE YOGA OFTEN The facts are in! The benefits of yoga far surpass any other exercise out there. For me, yoga is my moving meditation! Ive practiced 3-7 days per week for over 7 years now and find the benefits are long lasting for days after class. Aim for 3-5 sessions per week. 

3) VISUALIZATION A therapist told me I needed to visualize years ago, I laughed then went and bought a book on it! Nothing can bring peace like visualizing yourself on a far away island listening to the ocean waves crashing around you while you are on your lunch break in your office! Try it and see for yourself!

4) STOP THE STIMULANTS I recently stopped taking a green tea pill and I cannot tell you how incredibly taxing it was! I had a headache for three days! We are talking green tea with all its benefits! Bottom line here is that any and all caffeine will rev you up then drop you like a one night stand:) Ditch the coffee and replace it with a caffeine free herbal tea! Your adrenal glands and partner will thank you (less moodiness)!

5) GET YOUR HANDS ON A GOOD ADRENAL GLANDULAR Nothing supports the adrenal glands after a long stressful period in life than a good nights sleep and a great adrenal glandular! Your adrenal glands support energy production in the body. When we are in that “go go go rat race” they can crash and burn out! This leaves you feeling tired and ran down! Look for a good adrenal product preferably one that is herbal and vegan.

6) HYDRATE & EAT HEALTHSkip out on this and the consequences will be great! In order to have peace in our mind we must have peace in our bodies! This comes from the inside out! What you take in today will determine your clarity of mind, peace and your bodies ability to handle stress tomorrow! Choose that food wisely and hydrate!

7) MOVE YOUR BODY EVEN ON YOUR “REST DAY” Exercise is as important daily as breath! Our lymphatic system doesn’t pump on its own, we must move so it can do its job to pump that lymphatic fluid that carries toxins out of our body! Even if only for 20 minutes~move daily! Your body, heart and mind will thank you!

 

I hope you enjoyed this and empty the tips above in your own life! Feel free to Tweet this and tag me at “Rawchefandrea”! You may also Pin it or share it on Facebook and tag me under Andrea L Cox! I love sharing!

 

Andrea L Cox is the owner of http://www.thehealthyhaven.net & http://www.alkalizewithandrea.com

Andrea is a fitness model turned health coach who has written two books on the raw vegan healthy lifestyle and detoxification! After healing herself of bulimia and anorexia Andrea set out to spread the word on cleansing on a cellular level to create optimal health! Andrea has appeared on numerous news stations TV shows and magazine publications. She runs yoga juice cleanse retreats both in San Diego and Mexico! Her You Tube channel is approaching close to 2Million views. Her website for retreats is http://www.alkalizewithandrea.com Her other programs may be found at http://www.thehealthyhaven.net

 

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.