Andrea cox

All posts backup

Self esteem issues. How to turn it around!

the face

 

 

Today I want to share something with all of you that may seem contradictory to the way I appear on the internet. It may also seem that I’m sharing this to “fish” for compliments etc. I assure you I am not. What I’m about to share has been a very real truth for me for some time now. As embarrassing as it is to talk about, I’m actually beginning to see the beauty in the suffering it has caused me.

I’ve always had a low self esteem and never felt pretty. I’m not sure when or how it came about. I don’t blame the media and no one ever told me I was ugly growing up. My sisters and I would often argue and use unkind words to hurt Each other but I put little emphasis on that being the cause. 

This low self esteem has caused me to pass up social events, projects, modeling gigs and even a few news appearances.

The majority of my positive outlook about myself and my looks came from a ten year relationship I had with a beautiful kind soul. I was 17 when I met him. He always told me what a beautiful face I had and how angelic it was.He rarely placed any emphasis on my body. It was always my face. He often said “our bodies just carry us through life”. I’ve always been grateful for him and our time together. 

The past few weeks I’ve spent a lot of time alone, meditating and doing yoga. This has allowed me to reflect inward and focus on the purity, love and goodness of my heart. Alone time to me is sacred. Being an empath I am VERY sensitive to other people’s energy! I’ve learned to be cautious of who I spend my time around.

I think the biggest lesson I’ve learned during this time of reflection is how clean and beautiful it feels to NOT wear any make up on my face. A little essential oil and I’m done. Last night I came home and was a bit shy around my boyfriend being “bare faced”. A reminder that I still have much more internal work to do.♡♡♡

Thank you for all owing me to share.

Andrea
http://www.thehealthyhaven.net    www.alkalizewithandrea.com

Single Post Navigation

Comments are closed.